top of page

The opposite of the photo frame


Research about time and the value of work has led me to question the existence of things like executive toys. Most people nowadays can do 100% of their work on the laptop and never use any other physical tools or objects. Thus anything physical that you see on the work desk, usually has a very personal and sentimental value. A very common object is a photo frame or a photo clip. People put images of their loved ones, of animals or anything else that they like and feel deep connection to. To expand this perception and move into area of critical design, I wanted to try to figure out what the opposite of that would be: the object to hold the people and memories that you hate?

People are good to me, so personally, I dislike myself more than I dislike others, which was an interesting thing to realize. I would imagine many users would prefer to put notes of tasks or jobs that they have to do on this image holder. Maybe bills and payment reminders. And the ones who actually do hate a large number of people, would probably quickly get hurt by using the product, which is an interesting parallel to the actual situation of hate.

I went to the hardware store on Friday night, half an hour before it closes. Walked around with a bunch of knives. Went home and tried to cut the handles of the knives off. Printed the entire page filled with pictures of my own face. It was an interesting thing to do on a Friday night.

Have a nice Halloween everybody

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
RSS Feed
bottom of page